Prof Andrew Charles Walker

Andy Walker was born in Harrow, England on 24 June, 1948. He received a B.A. degree in physics, an M.Sc. degree in Quantum Electronics and a PhD degree from Essex University, England, in 1969, 1970, 1972, respectively. His Ph.D. research included the first observation of the photon drag effect in semiconductors. From 1972 to 1974 he was a National Research Council of Canada Postdoctoral Fellow with the Laser and Plasma Group, Ottawa, and worked on the generation and detection of picosecond pulses from carbon dioxide lasers. In 1975, following a year as a UK Science Research Council Fellow, he joined the UK Atomic Energy Authority, Culham Laboratory to work on the application of lasers within fusion research, including both laser generation of plasmas and their use for diagnostic purposes.
In 1983 he joined Heriot-Watt University, where he is currently Professor of Modern Optics in the Physics Department, studying semiconductor optoelectronic devices and optical interconnects, and their applications to free-space digital optical processing and switching.
His recent research activities have based around the Centre for Integrated Optoelectronic Systems (CIOS) and a European optical interconnects project (SPOEC), for both of which he acted as Co-ordinator. These multi-institute programmes targeted the development of digital optical processing and switching demonstrator systems and exploited a wide range of semiconductor optoelectronics and optical/optomechanical technologies. As part of the SPOEC project, an optoelectronic system has shown the potential of optical techniques for communicating with silicon chips at data rates in the THz domain. A new research activity is exploiting a novel polymer waveguide technology to create multi-level lightwave circuits.
Professor Walker is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and is currently Vice President for the Physical Sciences and Engineering. He is also a Fellow of the UK Institute of Physics, and was Secretary to its Quantum Electronics Group from 1982 to 1985 and Chairman of the Scottish Branch 1993-95. He is Assistant Principal (Resources) and Director of Postgraduate Studies at Heriot-Watt University and is a member of the Planning and Management Executive. He has published over 200 scientific papers and letters. 

Last modified: 

19/12/2013 - 23:02