ERPE was represented at this two-day event by the Institute of Petroleum Engineering's Gas Condensate Recovery (GCR) research team. The team had a stand which was visited by a number of delegates, including Heriot-Watt alumni. The team also presented three papers.

Alessandro Mangione a PhD student studying at Heriot-Watt's Institute of Petroleum Engineering, has won one of the three Best Student Paper prizes at the 76th EAGE Conference & Exhibition 2014 for his Paper "Synthetic Diagenesis: The Key to Carbonate Systems in Basin Modelling".

This year's conference was held 16-19 June 2014, in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Scientists from the Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage (SCCS) research partnership, of which ERPE is a member, have competitively won a 20% share of a £2.57 million funding pot to carry out targeted research that will support the commercial deployment of carbon capture and storage (CCS) in the UK.

For the eighth consecutive year, researchers from the ERPE Energy Academy and the Institute of Petroleum Engineering at Heriot-Watt University have collaborated with BP p.l.c. in the preparation of the data for their Statistical Review of World Energy.

Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer, interviewed by Dr Gabriela Medero and Dr Aruna Ivaturi, will be sharing tales of her career to date; the highs and lows, the pivotal times, people who made a difference, key events and life stages.

Professor John Underhill received the Alfred Wegener Award from the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers (EAGE) at a ceremony in Amsterdam on June 16.

The FloWave Ocean Energy Research Facility has opened at Edinburgh University and is the first of its kind in the world.

Broadband satellite communication systems on planes, trains and other fast-moving platforms are being advanced by ERPE, working alongside Europe’s largest space company.

Very Small Aperture Terminals


Subscribe to ERPE RSS