Three ERPE professors are among the distinguished individuals elected to become Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

Professor Mercedes Maroto Valer, Robert Buchan Professor of Sustainable Energy Engineering in Engineering, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society (EGIS) and the School of Engineering and Physical Sciences (EPS), Heriot-Watt University.

Dr David Flynn, of ERPE MAnufacturing & Materials theme, has been selected as a finalist in the UK Energy Innovation Awards 2015.

Dr Flynn, Deputy Director of Microsystems Engineering Centre (MISEC) and Heriot-Watt Deputy Director of CDT Embedded Intelligence, was shortlisted under two separate headings, ‘Best Offshore Renewable Energy Innovation’ and ‘Best University Technology’

On Tuesday 20 January Professor Garry Pender, Head of the School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society, and Professor Bhaskar Sen Gupta launched the new MSc in Water, Technology and Desalination at the International Water Summit in Abu Dhabi.

School pupils from Inverkeithing High School and Liberton High School have been designing structures of the size of one single human hair to solve current engineering challenges.

Heriot-Watt University and the University of Edinburgh welcome the outstanding results of REF2014 for the Edinburgh Research Partnership in Engineering (ERPE). 94% of our overall research activity is world-leading or internationally excellent. This, combined with the number of academic staff involved, makes Edinburgh the UK powerhouse in Engineering.

The main contractor for the new Lyell Centre for Earth and Marine Science and Technology, which will be the Scottish headquarters for the British Geological Survey (BGS) as well as a major joint BGS/Heriot-Watt University research centre for geological, petroleum and marine sciences, has been announced as Morrison Construction, part of Galliford Try plc.


Subscribe to ERPE RSS