Scottish Energy News Researcher of the Year Awards

Scottish Energy News Researcher of the Year Awards

On Thursday 14 May the Green Investment Bank in Edinburgh welcomed the Energy Academy and Fergus Ewing, the Scottish Minister for Business, Energy and Tourism, as hosts of the first Heriot-Watt Scottish Energy News Researcher of the Year Awards 2015, supported by Scottish Energy News.

During the afternoon at a ceremony presided over by Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer, Mr. Ewing presented the winners with their prizes, a fine glass trophy, an award certificate and a cheque for £500. In partnership between the Energy Academy and Scottish Energy News, the awards celebrate outstanding achievements of individuals or companies that have been working on energy or energy-related research for less than 10 years.

Of the six winners for this prestigious award Dr. Jin Xuan of ERPE won in the category for Energy Materials and Storage, are both from Heriot-Watt University.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Fergus Ewing acknowledged the contribution of collaborative R&D to the Scottish energy industry. Talking to the audience of business people and academics, the Minister emphasized the importance of collaboration and partnership between the Scottish Government, academic research, innovation and enterprise and economic development, and the work of Scottish engineers and scientists in the early stages of their careers saying:

“You are very important to the future of Scotland’s energy industries, not least because your research may be taken up to further help develop Scotland economy and energy sector – and this work – and the Heriot Watt Scottish Energy News Researchers of the Year Awards – may also help you to develop your own careers, whether in industry or in academia.”

“Heriot Watt’s Energy Academy – and its Institute of Petroleum Studies – are two of the most successful examples of driving forward the energy agenda in Scotland. Indeed, with a student population of 11,000 people, 1,700 academic staff and an annual turnover of £120 million a year, Heriot Watt University is itself a powerful economic engine for Scotland.”

Professor Mercedes Maroto-Valer, Director of the Energy Academy and ERPE member, told the audience that “the Energy Academy provides a framework for world-class energy study and research – a ‘gateway to the industrial world’. The awards also reflect the entire academic spectrum of the work of the Energy Academy, ranging from technical and engineering, to social and political aspects of energy policy – all issues which also impact on the ‘energy trilemma’ (affordability and security of energy supply, as well as the low-carbon and environmental issues) – with which we constantly grapple.”

Dr. Jin Xuan

Dr. Xuan won in the category for Energy Materials and Storage for his work in the creation of international multidisciplinary networks for fuel cell technology and hybrid low carbon energy innovation and to connect the Scottish and overseas industrial sectors in order to promote renewable energy in Scotland. In 2013 he was honoured by the American Chemical Society with the ENVR Certificate of Merit Award. He took up his current position at Heriot-Watt University as Assistant Professor in 2014 and is now leading an independent research team at Heriot-Watt.

For more information you can visit Dr. Xuan's profile.

The Energy Academy would like to thank the Green Investment Bank and in particular Gregor Paterson Jones and Gavin Templeton for their support of the initiative and Mark Whittet, Editor of Scottish Energy News for his ceaseless promotion of the competition and good will towards the Energy Academy and the renewable energy sector in Scotland.