ERPE academics receive Royal Society of Edinburgh Fellowship

ERPE academics receive Royal Society of Edinburgh Fellowship

Three ERPE professors are among the distinguished individuals elected to become Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

Professor Mercedes Maroto Valer, Robert Buchan Professor of Sustainable Energy Engineering in Engineering, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society (EGIS) and the School of Engineering and Physical Sciences (EPS), Heriot-Watt University.

Professor Alistair Borthwick, Professor of Applied Hydrodynamics, in the School of Engineering, University of Edinburgh.

Professor Hugh McCann, Head of School of Engineering and Professor of Tomographic Imaging, University of Edinburgh.

All three join the RSE in its work to place the advancement of learning and useful knowledge at the centre of public life in Scotland.

Leading STEM academics
RSE President Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, said, “I am delighted to welcome such a wide range of outstanding individuals to the Fellowship. Each of our new Fellows is elected on the distinguished merit of their work. In joining the RSE, they strengthen our capacity to support excellence across all areas of academic and public life, both in Scotland and further afield.”

Professor Duncan Hand, Acting Deputy Principal Heriot-Watt University (Research and Knowledge Exchange), said, “We are delighted at this recognition of two of our leading STEM academics who have demonstrated excellence in their respective fields and whose work is having real impact.”

The RSE now has around 1600 Fellows from a wide range of disciplines. The work of the RSE includes awarding research funding, leading on major inquiries, informing public policy and delivering events across Scotland to inspire knowledge and learning.